Gratitude by Oliver Sacks

This collection of four essays written by the late Dr Sacks is one finished in a breath – so compelling a read that one finds her heart palpitating at the end of it, and hoping for more of his words.

It is also a book I wish to gift to my family and friends closest to me, for its wisdom is never too early or late to learn. 

I shall but quote shortly:”I cannot pretend I am without fear. But my predominant feeling is one of gratitude. I have loved and been loved; I have been given much and I have given something in return; I have read and traveled and thought and written.”

His ruminations about life – of what it means to have lived – inspire one to be nervous about living. Are we living fully? Are we living consciously and honestly (to ourselves)? 

Will we be filled with gratitude when our time is up?

Leave a Reply

